1. Clean Money (1:59)
  2. Girls Talk (1:55)
  3. Talking In The Dark (1:54)
  4. Radio Sweetheart (2:29)
  5. Black & White World (demo) (1:50)
  6. Big Tears (3:08)
  7. Just A Memory (2:18)
  8. Night Rally (2:43)
  9. Stranger In The House (3:03)
  10. Clowntime Is Over No. 2 (3:44)
  11. Getting Mighty Crowded (2:10)
  12. Hoover Factory (1:45)
  13. Tiny Steps (2:41)
  14. (I Don't Want To Go To) Chelsea (3:07)
  15. Dr. Luther's Assistant (3:29)
  16. Sunday's Best (3:23)
  17. Crawling To The U.S.A. (2:52)
  18. Wednesday Week (2:01)
  19. My Funny Valentine (1:27)
  20. Ghost Train (3:06)
The most mysterious album planned for the Rhino reissue program is "an expanded Taking Liberties," mentioned in both Billboard's initial article on the reissues and a separate interview with reissue co-producer Gary Stewart. Unfortunately, so far no details have surfaced about what this collection would include.

The original Taking Liberties LP was released in the US in 1980 and collected most of Elvis' non-album tracks up to that point. A similar collection, Ten Bloody Marys & Ten How's Yer Fathers, was released in the UK at the same time with "(I Don't Want To Go To) Chelsea," "Night Rally," and "Sunday's Best" replaced by "Watching The Detectives," "Radio, Radio," and "(What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love And Understanding."

Both collections were rendered obsolete by the Ryko reissue program, which included all of the tracks among the expanded editions of My Aim Is True, This Years Model, Armed Forces, and Get Happy!!. Rhino's versions of those albums also contains all of these tracks (although nitpickers might point out that "Radio Sweetheart" is available only in an alternate mix on Rhino's My Aim Is True). While Taking Liberties certainly has its fans, it's hard to deny that it is awfully redundant at this point. Is this concept even marketable, let alone artistically worthy?

The answer to that question depends on exactly what the concept is, and with no official details available, we can only consider the rumor and speculation.


Scenario #1: Disc 1 presents the original Taking Liberties (with or without the additional Ten Bloody Marys tracks). Disc 2 is devoted to rarities otherwise unavailable on the bonus discs.

Scenario #2: The original Taking Liberties appears on disc 1, with Out Of Our Idiot, the less heralded 1987 compilation of additional non-album tracks, on disc 2. It should be noted that most of the Out Of Our Idiot tracks are already available on Rhino bonus discs, making this concept nearly as redundant as a straight Taking Liberties reissue.

Scenario #3: The original Taking Liberties on disc 1, alternate versions of the Taking Liberties songs on disc 2. I consider this scenario particularly implausible, since I doubt alternates even exist for many of these songs, and some of the alternates which do exist have already turned up on other bonus discs, such as "Stranger In The House (BBC version)" on This Years Model, "Girls Talk (alternate version)" on Get Happy!!, and "Hoover Factory (alternate version)" on Trust. Could there really be enough alternates left over?

Scenario #4: The project has nothing to do with the original Taking Liberties beyond the basic concept of collecting stray tracks. Both discs are devoted to rarities otherwise unavailable in the reissue program. "Taking Liberties" is perhaps only a working title. This scenario is the most likely to please the hardcore collectors, but it must be noted that Elvis himself told Entertainment Weekly in February 2002 that he didn't expect there to be enough worthy rarities to fill such a compilation by the time the reissue program is over. Also, this scenario does not really fit Gary Stewart's original description of "an expanded Taking Liberties."

return to index

return to index